Machel Montano takes 2024 Calypso Monarch crown in Trinidad

The content originally appeared on: Antigua News Room
Machel Montano wins the Calypso Monarch 2024 crown (photo via TTT Limited).

Source Loop Caribbean: Machel Montano has been crowned the 2024 Calypso Monarch.

After returning to Calypso for his only release of the 2024 Carnival season, Montano proved that everything he touches still turns to gold.

Machel performed in third position at Sunday night’s Dimanche Gras at the Queens Park Savannah against reigning Monarch Duane Ta’Zayah O’Connor and ten others, but they just couldn’t get past his presentation of ‘Soul of Calypso’.

Former Calypso Monarchs Karene Asche and Roderick ‘Chuck’ Gordon were second and third respectively.

Mical Teja, who performed his powerhouse hit ‘DNA’, placed fourth.

Former Monarchs Helon Francis, Kurt Allen, and Winston ‘Gypsy’ Peters finished fifth, eighth, and 10th respectively.

Defending champion Duane Ta’Zayah O’Connor was ninth overall.

Montano has now become the first person to win the Young Kings, Road March, Soca Monarch, and Calypso Monarch titles.

He told reporters that he will be back to defend his title in 2024.

“If you win a title, then you must defend it,” Montano said after receiving his prize of $500,000 and a $350,000 Suzuki motor vehicle.

The 10-time Road March champion was accompanied onstage by his mother, Elizabeth, and wife, Renee.

Montano ushered his beaming mother Elizabeth into the shiny maroon vehicle.

Official results were posted to the Trinidad and Tobago Unified Calypsonians’ Organisation (TUCO) Facebook page around 2 am on Carnival Monday.

Roxanne Omala and Joseph Lewis were crowned the Queen and King of Carnival respectively at the Dimanche Gras show.

Omala portrayed ‘Queen Tarantula’ while Lewis performed ‘Xhiokomak-Lord of the Underworld.”

2024 Calypso Monarch – Results

1st – Machel Montano

2nd – Karene Asche

3rd – Roderick ‘Chuck’ Gordon

4th – Mical Teja

5th – Helon Francis

6th – Stacey Sobers

7th – Aaron Duncan

8th – Kurt Allen

9th- Duane Ta’Zayah O’Connor

10th – Winston ‘Gypsy’ Peters

11th – Brian London

12th – Dillon Thomas – Dilly Suede

Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Antigua! We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages.Contact us at [email protected]